Spartan Swill
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Cord Cutting or not?

+32
The Pantry
GRR Spartan
Jake from State Farm
Floyd Robertson
Pervis Muldoon
Trapper Gus
CORNER BLITZ
AvgMSUJoe
Travis of the Cosmos
MiamiSpartan
I.B. Fine
By-Tor
Cameron
Heat Miser
Senior Dickfist
Robert J Sakimano
InTenSity
Three_Putt_Par
AnomanderRake
xsanguine
aualum06
StylesGShmooth
Other Teams Pursuing That
Gomer
steveschneider
Dr. Strangelove
Death Roe
DWags
WhiteBoyHatcher
tGreenWay
Turtleneck
Giant Moose
36 posters

Page 1 of 9 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next

Go down

Cord Cutting or not? Empty Cord Cutting or not?

Post by Guest Sun 20 Mar 2016 - 10:39

OK, I've been diddling around with this for a couple years now. Have experimented with Roku and some other streaming and honestly it's a bit dicey up here with DSL being my
fastest internet choice. Today I got my DISH bill and they've exhausted my "credits" so my bill went from $77 in January to $82 in February to $97 now and going forward.
Considering what I watch on TV I need to see if I can really beat that or not:

I'm already a Prime member so that covers movies and some other crap.

ESPN - Can you pay for watchESPN if you don't have cable or satellite?
B1GTen - Same question as ESPN - it looks like they require a cable or satellite subscription.
To my knowledge my biggest loss (and for me it is a BIG one) is that there's no way to get the Tigers online.

If I had ESPN, BTN and FSD it would cover roughly 90-95% of my television viewing. But it looks like I can get none of them separate from a cable or satellite subscription.

Am I wrong or just an out of touch old fart that doesn't know how to handle the streaming world?

If I can't get my sports I guess it'll be back to the old game of switching to Direct to get the new customer pricing for a couple years. Silly business model but both